Fondation Merieux

A family foundation dedicated to fighting infectious diseases

Scientific Committee Members

Professor Albert Osterhaus

President of the Scientific Committee

Professor Osterhaus is the Director of the Department of Viriology of ERASMUS University of Rotterdam (the Netherlands). He is also the Director of the WHO National Influenza Center, Director of the WHO Global References Laboratory for Measles, Director of the WHO Collaborative Center for Arboviruses et Haemorraghic Fevers and President of the European Scientific Working Group on Influenza.

Professor Osterhaus is one of the world's greatest virologists. He was one of the discoverers of the bird flu (virus H5N1).

Professor Antoine Andremont

Professor Andremont was a pediatrician before turning to Clinical Microbiology, now leading the Bacteriology laboratory of Bichat Hospital (Paris, France).

Professor Françoise Barré-Sinoussi

Professor Barré-Sinoussi PhD, retrovirologist, Research Director at the French National Institute of Health and Medical Research (Inserm) and Professor at the Institut Pasteur in France since 2015, is internationally recognized for her contributions to HIV/AIDS research, for which she was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2008.

Professor Abdullah Brooks

Professor Stewart Cole

Professor Cole is Professeur of microbial pathogenics at the Faculty of Life Sciences of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale of Lausanne (Switzerland). He is also the former Scientific Director of the Institut Pasteur.

The work of Professor Cole on tuberculosis, leprosy, HIV, gas gangrene or bacterial molecular gentics is recognized worldwide.

Professor Xavier de Lamballerie

Since 2005, ProfessorLamballerie is Professor of Microbiology at La Timone Hospital in Marseille (France). From 2008 onwards, he is head of research unit UMR190, Emergence des Pathologies Virales (Aix-Marseille University - IRD, French Institute of Research for Development - EHESP French School of Public Health - Inserm French National Institute for Health and Medical Research), with a permanent implantation in Laos.

Professor Ogobara Doumbo

Professor Ogobara Doumbo is Director of the Departement of Epidemiology of Parasitic Diseases of the Faculty of Medecine of Bamako University (Mali) and Director of the MRTC (Malaria Research and Training Center) in Bamako.

Professor Doumbo is recognized worldwide for his work on malaria.

Professor David Heymann

Professor Heymann is currently professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and head of the Centre on Global Health Security at Chatham House, London.

Professor Johan Neyts

Professor Johan Neyts is Professor of Virology of the Department Microbiology and Immunology of the Rega Institute of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Louvain (Belgium).

Professor Neyts became known for his work in the field of surveillance of infectious diseases and in particular respiratory infections (human and bird flu). Professor Neyts is very actively involved in the European surveillance network, VIRGIL.

Professor Fabien Zoulim

Professor Zoulim is Director of the INSERM U871 Unit, clinician, gastroenterologist and virologist.

His work notably in the field of hepatitis B et C is widely recognized.

Top of Page