COVID-19: The Mérieux Foundation is deploying diagnostic and research expertise to strengthen partner laboratories facing the COVID-19 outbreak.
Discover more about our actions

COVID-19: The Mérieux Foundation deploys diagnostic and research expertise on the ground

Chargement...

Last update on April 7, 2020

The Mérieux Foundation is working to strengthen novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) detection and infection control capability among its partner laboratory networks. The Foundation’s support focuses on two interventions: strengthening diagnostic capacity by quickly deploying a molecular test to detect SARS-CoV-2, and assessing the risk of nosocomial transmission of SARS-CoV-2 in hospitals in order to better understand hospital-based prevention and infection control measures. The work is being carried out in partnership with Prof. Philippe Vanhems from Hospices Civils de Lyon and Prof. Jianwei Wang from the Christophe Mérieux Laboratory in Beijing. The project will be co-funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

The first case of 2019 coronavirus disease (COVID-19) was reported by local authorities in Wuhan, China, on December 31, 2019. The disease has since evolved into a global epidemic, with over 70 countries currently affected and working to respond to the outbreak. The challenge is especially daunting for developing countries, some of which lack the technology and expertise in their health systems to diagnose COVID-19 and control the spread of the disease.

The Mérieux Foundation is harnessing its extensive network on the ground, which includes international laboratories within the GABRIEL network and the RESAOLAB regional laboratory network in West Africa. The Foundation has identified two areas of focus based on feedback from these laboratories, which were asked to indicate where they required strengthening in order to be able to cope with a potential COVID-19 outbreak.

Strengthening local SARS-CoV-2 diagnostic capability

Identifying infected patients is vital to establishing security and quarantine measures and helping to limit the spread of the virus.

Strengthening local SARS-CoV-2 diagnostic capability

To support the laboratories, members of its networks, the Mérieux Foundation sends detection kits to requesting sites, together with SOPs and WHO recommendations on biosafety. Visioconference meetings are organized in order to provide remote support to the teams and answer their questions.

In order to ensure the capacity to provide a quantity of tests to meet the demand, two viral detection kits are made available. The first kit was developed by the German team of the Charité Laboratory (Team of Prof. C. Drosten, Charity Berlin) and validated by WHO.

Sars-Cov-2 detection kit – Charité laboratory, Germany

This test, validated by WHO, based on the sequences of SARS-CoV-2 coronaviruses and SARS-related viruses, consists of two RT-PCR (Real Time Reverse Transcription Polymerase Chain Reaction) per sample: the first-line screening test detects betacoronavirus SARS-related Cov (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome) and the confirmatory test specifically detects SARS-CoV-2.

The EVAg consortium (European Virus Archive, a European consortium funded by the H2020 programme) supports and provides the positive controls, proving that detection of the virus by this test is effective.

The kit developed Christophe Mérieux Laboratory in Beijing, founded jointly by the Mérieux Foundation and the Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences (CAMS), and validated by the Chinese CDC is also shipped. The lab team developed a RT-PCR molecular test being used for all SARS-CoV-2 diagnostics in China.

The Mérieux Foundation will ship the tests to all requesting facilities in order to overcome equipment and technology shortcomings and support quick and effective diagnosis of novel coronavirus cases.

To date, the reagents developed by the German team have been sent to Mali, Republic of the Congo, Lebanon, Togo, Myanmar, and two sites in Bangladesh. Shipment of kits developed by China is underway for Mali, Togo, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Lebanon and Burkina Faso and soon for Paraguay.

  • Bangladesh: BITID & ideSHi
  • Burkina Faso: National Center for Scientific Research
  • Haïti: GHESKIO Centers
  • Lebanon: Rodolphe Mérieux Laboratory
  • Mali: Charles Mérieux Center for Infectious Disease
  • Myanmar: National Health Laboratory
  • Paraguay: Instituto de invesigaciones en Ciencias de la Salud
  • Republic of the Congo: Research Center on Infectious Diseases- Christophe Mérieux
  • Togo: Molecular Biology Laboratory, National Institute of Hygiene

Launching a research protocol to limit nosocomial transmission

While diagnosing COVID-19 is an urgent priority, it is equally important to identify and reduce transmission risk in hospitals. Evidence has shown that SARS-CoV-2, like SARS-CoV-1 in 2003, is characterized by a particularly high rate of nosocomial infections. In response, the Mérieux Foundation in collaboration with Prof. Philippe Vanhems, epidemiologist at the Hospices Civils de Lyon, has developed a research protocol that partners on the ground can use to assess nosocomial transmission risk for SARS-CoV-2: the NOSO-COR project.

This is a prospective, non-interventional – observational, hospital-based study to describe and document cases of COVID-19 nosocomial transmission in hospitals, and to describe infection prevention and control practices and policies in hospitals.

The NOSO-COR project has two features:

  • mapping available expertise in hospitals in order to identify what interventions are needed to limit nosocomial transmission;
  • carrying out an epidemiological study to gain a better understanding of transmission chains, risk factors and impact of hospital-based prevention and infection control measures, in order to identify key infection risk factors.

This study will be implemented in the following countries:

  • Africa: Mali, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Madagascar, Burkina Faso, in collaboration with Africa CDC ;
  • Asia: Bangladesh and Myanmar ;
  • Americas: Brazil.

The project has been approved by the ethics committee in France and is currently being submitted to the national ethics committees of the partner countries (approved by the Malagasy ethics committee). It Has been registered on clinialtrials.gov website under the identifier NCT04290780.

The protocol has also been made available to eight teaching hospitals in France for subsequent results- and experience-sharing.

The Foundation adapts day-to-day its interventions to local needs and, as circumstances dictate, could foster synergies with other health-care partners on the ground.

Next

Previous

Revive

Pause

COVID-19: La Fondation Mérieux apporte son expertise diagnostic et recherche pour renforcer ses laboratoires partenaires face à l’épidémie COVID-19.
Découvrez en plus sur nos actions

COVID-19 : la Fondation Mérieux apporte son expertise diagnostic et recherche sur le terrain

Chargement...

Dernière mise à jour le 7 avril 2020

La Fondation Mérieux agit pour renforcer au sein de ses réseaux de laboratoires la capacité à détecter et contrôler l’infection par le nouveau coronavirus SARS-CoV-2. Ce soutien comporte deux approches : le renforcement des capacités de diagnostic, en mettant à disposition rapidement un essai moléculaire permettant de détecter le SARS-CoV-2, et l’évaluation du risque de transmission nosocomiale du SARS-CoV-2 dans les hôpitaux d’autre part, pour une meilleure connaissance des mesures de prévention et de contrôle de l’infection en milieu hospitalier. Ce travail est développé en étroite collaboration avec le Pr Ph. Vanhems des « Hospices Civils de Lyon » et le Pr Jianwei Wang du Laboratoire Christophe Mérieux de Pékin. Ce projet sera co-financé par la Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Signalée pour la première fois par les autorités locales le 31 décembre 2019 à Wuhan en Chine, la maladie à coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) a depuis pris des proportions épidémiques à l’international. Pour les pays en développement, l’enjeu est de taille puisque certains systèmes de santé pourraient manquer de technologie et de compétences pour diagnostiquer et contrôler l’infection au COVID-19.

Forte d’une approche en réseau sur le terrain, la Fondation Mérieux coordonne plusieurs réseaux de laboratoire internationaux comme GABRIEL ou régionaux comme RESAOLAB en Afrique de l’Ouest. Ces laboratoires ont été sondés sur leurs besoins de renforcement pour faire face à une éventuelle flambée de maladie à coronavirus 2019 et leurs retours ont permis de définir deux domaines d’intervention pour la Fondation.

Renforcer localement la capacité de diagnostic du SARS-CoV-2

L’identification des patients atteints est primordiale pour pouvoir mettre en place les mesures de sécurité et de quarantaine nécessaires pour limiter la propagation du virus.

Renforcer localement la capacité de diagnostic du SARS-CoV-2

Pour soutenir les laboratoires membres de ses réseaux, la Fondation Mérieux envoie aux sites demandeurs des kits de détection, accompagnés des procédures opérationnelles ainsi que des recommandations de l’OMS sur la biosécurité. Des réunions téléphoniques sont organisées afin de pouvoir accompagner à distance les équipes et répondre à leurs questions.

Afin d’assurer la capacité à fournir une quantité de tests permettant de répondre à la demande, deux kits de détection du virus sont mis à disposition. Le premier kit est développé par l’équipe allemande du laboratoire de la charité (Equipe du Pr C. Drosten) et validé par l’OMS.

Kit de détection du Sars-Cov-2 – laboratoire de la Charité, Allemagne

Ce test, validé par l’OMS, basé sur les séquences des coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 et des virus SARS-related, est composéé de deux réactions RT-PCR (Real Time Reverse Transcription Polymerase Chain Reaction) par échantillon : le test de dépistage de première ligne détecte des betacoronavirus de type SARS (Syndrome Respiratoire Aigu Sévère) et le test de confirmation détecte spécifiquement le SARS-CoV-2.

Le consortium EVAg (European Virus Archive, consortium européen financé par le programme H2020) apporte son soutien et fournit les contrôles positifs, permettant de prouver que la détection par ce test est efficace.

Le kit développé par le Laboratoire Christophe Mérieux de Pékin, créé conjointement par la Fondation Mérieux et l’Académie Chinoise des Sciences Médicales (CAMS) et validé par le CDC Chinois, est également envoyé. L’équipe de ce laboratoire a en effet développé un essai moléculaire permettant de détecter le SARS-CoV-2, basé sur une technique RT-PCR. C’est avec ce test que sont réalisés en Chine tous les diagnostics de l’épidémie en cours.

L’envoi de ces tests et l’accompagnement proposé permettent de pallier un manque d’outils et de technologie pour diagnostiquer efficacement et rapidement les cas d’infection par ce nouveau coronavirus.

A ce jour, les kits ont été envoyés ou sont en cours d’acheminement vers les sites suivants :

  • Burkina Faso : Centre National de Recherche Scientifique
  • Bangladesh : BITID et ideSHi
  • Haïti : Centres GHESKIO
  • Liban : Laboratoire Rodolphe Mérieux
  • Mali : Centre d’Infectiologie Charles Mérieux
  • Myanmar : National Health Laboratory
  • Paraguay :Instituto de Investigaciones en Ciencias de la Salud
  • République du Congo : Centre de Recherches sur les maladies infectieuses- Christophe Mérieux
  • Togo : Laboratoire de Biologie Moléculaire, Institut National d’Hygiène

Lancer un protocole de recherche pour limiter les infections nosocomiales : projet NOSO-COR

Au-delà de l’action d’urgence que représente la nécessité de diagnostiquer les cas de COVID-19, il est important de proposer des solutions pour identifier et réduire les risques de transmission dans les hôpitaux. Il a été démontré que la maladie à SARS-CoV-2, comme le SARS-CoV-1 en 2003, se caractérise notamment par un taux d’infections nosocomiales particulièrement élevé. Face à ce constat, la Fondation Mérieux, en collaboration avec le Pr Philippe Vanhems, épidémiologiste aux Hospices Civils de Lyon, a également proposé aux partenaires sur le terrain un protocole de recherche pour l’évaluation du risque de transmission nosocomiale du SARS-CoV-2 : le projet NOSO-COR.

Il s’agit d’une étude prospective non interventionnelle en milieu hospitalier pour décrire et documenter les cas de COVID-19, la transmission nosocomiale à l’hôpital et décrire les pratiques et politiques de prévention et de contrôle des infections dans les hôpitaux.

Le projet NOSO-COR présente deux aspects :

  • un mapping des compétences dans les hôpitaux pour identifier les interventions nécessaires afin de limiter les cas d’infections nosocomiales ;
  • une étude épidémiologique pour une meilleure connaissance des chaînes de transmission et de l’impact des mesures de prévention et de contrôle de l’infection en milieu hospitalier, afin d’identifier les facteurs de risque déterminants pour ces cas.

Cette étude va être implémentée dans les pays suivants :

  • Afrique : Mali, Sénégal, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinée, Madagascar, Burkina Faso, notamment en collaboration avec Africa CDC et avecle financement de la Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation ;
  • Asie : Bangladesh et Myanmar ;
  • Amérique : Brésil.

Le projet a été approuvé au comité d’éthique en France et est en cours de soumission aux comités d’éthique nationaux des pays partenaires (approuvé par le Comité d’éthique malgache). L’étude a été enregistrée sur le site clinicaltrials.gov sous l’identifiant NCT04290780.

Par ailleurs, ce protocole est actuellement proposé à 8 CHU sur le territoire français, afin de pouvoir, à terme, partager résultats et expériences.

Ce travail sur le terrain s’adapte au jour le jour aux besoins locaux et pourra faire l’objet de collaborations avec d’autres partenaires de santé sur place pour assurer une complémentarité d’action, selon les situations et acteurs présents dans chaque pays.

Suivant

Précédent

Relancer

Pause